Beauty is in the Eye of the Beholder

Standard

I think the concept of beauty comes from many things.  Specifically to me I think my concept of beauty has come from my home.  While I understand that the concept of beauty is most commonly derived from the media, I look to the way I was raised to define beauty.  Growing up, my mother always made sure that I did not leave the house without looking my best.  She always wanted me to look presentable, partly because I believe it would reflect poorly on her if I didn’t.  I am thankful for this though because you never know who you are going to run into.  I was also raised in a very Godly home and most of my parent’s teachings and the way that they raised me stemmed from the Bible.  They taught me not to look at the media for my body image, but that I should dress modestly and not care if I was wearing hammy downs or something new.

From my personal beliefs, I believe that men and women have different parameters for beauty.  Guys are too pressured to be muscular and in shape, while women are encouraged to be skinny and have an outfit pleasing to the eye.  Beauty has absolutely changed over the years though, and how beauty is defined.  However the universal want to obtain beauty has never changed.

To some extent, I believe we are all prisoners of beauty… some more than others.  I truly believe that e all want to posses’ beauty which makes us prisoners to some extent because we all care how others perceive us.

Leave a comment